The Maryland Forestry Boards were created by law in 1943 to act as advocates of sound forest management practices and to promote conservation of Maryland's forest resources. There are 24 boards, one in each county and one in Baltimore City. Members are appointed by the head of the Maryland Dept. of Natural Resources - Forest Service to serve 3 years. Boards are involved in educational activities, planting of school forests, Critical Area timber harvest plan review, private landowner outreach, community workshops and other activities.

Each board has a Chair, elected by board membership, and a Secretary who is a DNR forester assigned to the local area. A full contact list can be found here. Please contact your local board if you are interested in forestry issues in your community.